The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument put forth claims that the current issues faced by the Central Plaza storeowners are directly correlated with skateboarders. The decline in their business as well as increase in vandalism and littering are being attributed to the popularity of skateboarding and the author believes that restricting/prohibiting skateboarding would herald the return of the golden days. The argument makes several assumptions in its wake and begs several questions. Especially the question that, could the decline of the shoppers in the area be attributed to other factors?

Firstly, has a new mall come up in the last two years that could have now claimed a share of the Central Plaza’s customer base? Customers loyalty exists to a certain point, and no buyer can complain to having an option. This would lead to a flux between the available shopping avenues and Central Plaza, in turn, would have seen a decline in their footfalls.

Secondly, is the decline of shoppers in Central Plaza a unique phenomenon, or has the trend been tracked across all malls and shopping areas? Online shopping has become increasingly popular due to its convenience and would directly impact how much a customer would go to a mall physically. This hypothesis belies any correlation with skateboarders frequenting Central Plaza.

Thirdly, have the services present by Central Plaza recently been evaluated? It is easier to look outwards and point the blame than evaluating ourselves critically without any bias. Shopping malls and avenues have become very competitive, providing additional services to customers apart from just the stores. It is quite common to see live music performances, attractive games and playpens for kids, multiple food stalls as well as flea market festivals at the malls. Given these competitive offerings, how are Central Plaza store owners doing? Complaisance in this cutthroat race could lead loss of any but the most faithful customers and cannot be attributed just to external factors.

Fourthly and most importantly, has there been a survey among the customers in the first place? What is their professed reason for not visiting Central Plaza? Do they indeed name skateboarders to be the reason why they do not wish to shop at Central Plaza? Any decision being taken by the central plaza for their customers, especially such a petition banning skateboarders, should first take into account the opinion of the customers.

Apart from the decline of customers, the argument implies that the skateboarders are causing the littering and vandalism in the Plaza. This is a grave accusation, and brings up the question of evidence. Do the store owners have undeniable proof of such behaviour demonstrated by the skateboarders, like CCTV footage or reliable eye-witnesses, or is this a conjecture based on matching timeline? Is such littering and vandalism specific to just Central Plaza, or are other malls also facing the same problem? That would indicate a rise in vandalism in the area in general and not any direct correlation with the skateboarders. Has the Plaza analysed why such activities have increased, and provided remedial solutions? Before asking the city to ban skateboarders in Central Plaza, has Central Plaza put in efforts like adding night security, providing garbage bins at regular intervals, as well fitting and checking CCTVs to validate these accusations in the first place?

A petition like the one mentioned by the author is highly disputable and potentially discriminative. If questions presented above are not properly and unambiguously answered, it is unlikely that the city would restrict skateboarders from frequenting Central Plaza.