The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the editorial letter from central plaza owner, it is stated that there should be restriction on skateboarding in order to gain original profit level, which causes decrease in their business due to dramatic increase in number of skateboarding .The owner of plaza have come to this conclusion based on the evidence of increase in amount of litter as well as in vandalism. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

First of all, does we could use the situation before two year as a generalization for other period of time? In the other words, did we consider the some changes occur during these two year period? It is possible that central plaza before two years ago has different scenario as compared to now. Perhaps there must be changes in the population size during this two year. There might play important role for deciding the number of shopper who goes central plaza for shopping. Reason behind decrease in number of shopper is mainly due to nature of most of people reluctant to shopping rather than due to skateboarding. If either of these scenarios proves true, then the assertion of the owners significantly degraded.

Secondly, does increase in number of litter and vandalism was only due to increase in number of skateboarding? Does increase in number of skateboarding solely responsible for limitation of plaza business? Perhaps there might be other reason behind decrease in number of shoppers in central plaza. For example there might be decrease in quality of product and increase in price of commodities which result in low number of customer or shopper and ultimately in revenue of central plaza. Perhaps increase in litter is mainly due to ignorance of government officials who was appointed for managing the litter in proper time. Vandalism may attract only marginal shopper who r economically poor. Plaza shopper may be economically affluent. Without addressing these issues owners might not get expected business level even though skateboarding is prohibited.

Thirdly, does skateboarding only causes negative impact on business of central plaza? There might be positive impact on business of central plaza. Owner might neglect about the gathering of people and gathering of people may increases the number of shopper in recent year which might not get noticed by owners of plaza. Despite of increasing number of skateboarding, it might play important role in advertisement of plaza thought directly as well as indirectly. Perhaps, there may be play positive role for the business of plaza by skateboarders but due to other some reason there is decrease in shopper number in central plaza. Without answering these questions, owners maynot get expected result after prohibiting skateboarding near plaza.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stand now, considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions, if the owner of plaza is able to answer to three questions above and offer more evidence , then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation prohibit the skateboarding around central plaza.