The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

In the letter, the Central Plaza store owner stated the decrease in the number of shoppers in the Plaza and an increase in the popularity of skateboarding in the area, thus making a connection between the two. Likewise, the store owner also implied a link between the increasing littering and vandalism and skateboarding. Based on the claims above, the store owner suggested ban skateboarding in the Plaza, assuming the business will reach its previous height again after the prohibition. Although out of good intention to restore the glory of the Central Plaza, the letter did not make a cogent case, being unconvincing in several aspects.

First, the author implied a connection between the drop of number of shoppers in the Plaza and the rise of skateboarding, holding the assumption that skateboarding is the direct cause to the decline of buyers. To strengthen the argument, questions remain to be answered to rule out other possibilities leading to such decline in business. Is it possible that the poor service at the Central Plaza expels potential customers? Is it possible that the opening of another larger and better shopping center attract most of the old shoppers? Or is it possible that poor economic environment prevents people from shopping as often as before? Unless such information is provided, the evidence stated in the letter is not solid enough to support the argument.

Likewise, the author also pointed out the fact that the amount of litter and vandalism had increased in the plaza, making an unstated assumption that skateboarding is the direct reason for littering and vandalism. To bolster the argument, more information is required to exclude other possibilities that may result in such increase. It needs to be answered whether there is a decline in the number of police officers or security personnel patrolling the area, resulting in a lack of supervision and protection. It also needs to be answered whether individuals other than the skateboarders exist in the area and are possibly responsible for the littering or vandalism, for example, a group of homeless people living nearby and often wander the plaza. Without assertions that no other cause is responsible for littering and vandalism, the author did not make a strong argument.

Finally, the author recommended prohibition of skateboarding in the Central Plaza, holding the belief that such prohibition can restore the former glory of the Central Plaza. Assuming the skateboarding is actually the direct cause of the decline in customers, to strengthen the argument, the author needed to answer whether the former customers are still willing to come back to Central Plaza after the prohibition. Perhaps the shoppers have been accustomed to shop at another shopping center. Or maybe they have get used to shopping online. Or they simply do not want to drive all the way to the Central Plaza to shop anymore. Thus in order to make a solid argument, more evidence are needed to assure that customers are willing to come back if the skateboarding issue has been resolved.

In conclusion, the letter did not make a solid argument, and in order to strengthen its claims and the final conclusion, the author needs to provide evidences whether skateboarding is the direct and only cause to the decline of buyers, as well as littering and vandalism. the author needs to provide information whether the former customers are still willing to come back to Central Plaza after the prohibition.