The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the editor, the author concludes that the environmental disasters potentially caused by Crust Copper Company’s recent purchase of 10,000 square miles can be avoided if consumers simply boycott the firm’s products made with copper. However, the author supports his conclusion with three assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the writer presumes, without evidence, that the Crust Copper Company will use the 10,000 acres it purchased to conduct mining operations. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps the company acquired the land because it wanted to present an image to the rest of the world that it was focused on conservation efforts. It is possible that they will preserve the land in order to remedy its sullied reputation from previous, environmentally destructive operations. It is also possible that the firm purchased the land simply as an investment and that top executives have concluded the land will appreciate significantly in value. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author’s contention that disaster can be avoided if consumers modify their purchasing behavior does not hold water.

Second of all, the letter to the editor claims that, if Crust Copper Company mines the land, environmental pollution will ‘inevitably’ result, but this may not necessarily be true. Perhaps the author of the letter is basing his claim on older mining technology notorious for polluting the environment. It is likely that mining technology has become at least somewhat more environmentally-friendly in recent years, and it is possible that it has become significantly less damaging to the environment. For example, a new copper mining technique that results in little to no environmental pollution might have been invented. In addition, even if mining technology has not considerably changed, there is potential that the company’s ability to clean up and restore the environment has drastically improved. If either case is true, then the author’s claim that pollution will undoubtedly result is not warranted, and his suggestion that customers ‘refuse’ to purchase the corporation’s product is not overly persuasive.

Finally, even if it is true that Crust Copper Company intends to use the land for mining and that this will result in substantial environmental degradation, the author assumes that consumers will have the wherewithal to determine which products contain copper acquired from the company’s mining operations. It is possible that Crust Copper Company wholesales its copper to dozens, if not hundreds, of other retail corporations and that its logo appears on none of the products. Or perhaps its logo is obfuscated by other parts of the product or buried deep within the product information manual, leading to consumers being unable (or unwilling) to ascertain where every component of the product originates. If it is true that the customers find it challenging to select products without Crust Copper Company’s influence, then the author’s assertion is invalid, and his recommendation will do little to convince the company to forego its mining plans.

In conclusion, it is possible that consumers boycotting the company’s products will have the intended effect of forcing Crust Copper Company to abandon its plans. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence on three fronts: the company’s intended use of the land, the potential for pollution from mining, and whether consumers will be able to differentiate Crust Copper Company products from its competitors.