The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

commuters are facing traffic jam at rush hours on Blue Highway which connects city and suburbs by almost doubled their time and to resolve this problem the suggestion of adding lane bicycle lane will encourage commuters to ride bicycle and atomatically will reduce the traffic jam at rush hours was given. As adding one more lane was followed by worsening traffic jams at nearby Green Highway. However the argument is rife with assumptions and does not sound convincing due to lack of evidence

Commuters are complaining about doubling of commuting time at rush hours on Blue Highway. Considering it a major probblem , is any survey or study has been conducted on it yet ? what exactly is root cause of this problem ? Is there any specific reason why traffic gets jam at rush hours ? Does people follows all traffic rules at rush hours? the traffic is coming or going in any perticular direction causing traffic jam ? these things need to be considered before taking any further decision.

last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Even though it has worsen the traffic the reasons behind increase in traffic jam can be varied. traffic jams can happen due to accidents also due to stopping or not working of a single car can also affect the traffic. Also is any study has been conducted on Green Highway stating the traffic has worsen? Addition to this the situation of traffic from last year can be completly changed this year. Along with that comparision between Green and Blue Highway may not be appropriate as both Highway can have different traffic rush hours, location, locality ,length and space also geographical featurs which needs to be considered and which can be far different then Blue Highway as of Green Highway.

To reduce traffic the suggestion of adding bicycles track is given as many bicyclists are resident in nearby area. By encouraging bicyclist to use bicycle will reduce traffic in rush hours is assumed. this assumpthion is weak and does not consider many aspects of it. any pole has been taken to know exact number od bicyclist ? also, does people really consider using bicycle in day to day life ? specially at rush hours ? also any evidance or proof about exact number of bicycle residents who uses Blue Highway on daily basis needs to be confirmed.

therefore due to lack of evidence and inadiquate data this is very weak argument and writer should reconsider the following points for better implimentation to solve traffic jam problem at Blue Highway.