The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza.

"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, it is based on unwarranted assumption that removing the prohibition on the skateboarders in Central Plaza, would restore the plaza former glory. Indeed, there are several unstated assumptions which if do not hold true argument will totally fall apart. The reasons provided by author are dangling. The author fails to provide the correct reasons behind the real problem.

The argument fails to provide any justification that in order to restore the Central Plaza glory, city should lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza. The reasons for poor customers in Central Plaza could different. For one, the goods that plaza is selling could be outdated, old-fashioned and that too at high prices. The goods, items are not be liked by customers because of their poor quality. Whereas the other malls in the same locality are providing new stuff with low prices and better quality. Even if the prices are high, quality is must. Without maintaining quality, people will not buy the stuff even at low prices. Also, the argument claims that litter is still the same. If this the case, than how will the customer be attracted. People would like to go to beautiful places than shabby and ugly. The argument had been more strong had it provided information regarding the material the Central Plaza is selling and need to work on cleaning its surrounding. Only than could it restore its former glory.

The argument leaves many other unanswered questions, it recommend to nullify the prohibition on the skateboarders in the plaza, to help restore the plaza glory. But this reason is unrealistic, the argument is trusting the skateboarders without any reasons. Even if skateboarders start to come, it doesn't mean that plaza glory is maintained. The main requirement is enhancing the current facilities in the plaza. Working upon the loose ends and fixing them.

Finally, the argument claims without any warrant that skateboarding is permitted in the Monroe Park, and there is no litter, vandalism in that place. However, same may not hold true for the Central Plaza. For one, Monroe is a park, they might be having proper facilities like dust-bins and facility workers to keep check on the litter and also they might have placed the cameras to check for vandalism. Also, the age group of the skateboarders matters a lot. Maybe more mature crowd is visiting the park. The argument had been strong had it taken into consideration the various factors differentiating park and plaza.

Because the argument makes many unwarranted assumption it fails to provide any convincing case that allowing skateboarders will restore the Central Plaza former glory. Instead the Plaza should work on its short-comings into order to attract customers.