The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper suggests that the residents of Parson City place more emphasis on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do. In order to come up with such a conclusion, the author of the letter has provided evidence to back his claim. The evidence seem legible during the first read but a closer look could unearth possible fallacies in the reasoning behind the evidence. As a result, the conclusion drawn by the author of the letter could prove to be erroneous.

Firstly, the arguer implies that since more money is invested in public schools in Parson City, residents of the city place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools. Such a claim by the arguer has no concrete evidence to back it up. It could be possible that the reason why Parson City invests highly in their public schools is because students from other cities come to Parson City to seek education. These students could probably bring necessary financial revenue with them which could boost Parson City's economy. As a result, Parson City's heavy investment in public schools could be a way of attracting more kids and bolstering their revenue rather than the arguer's claim that people in Parson City put more emphasis on good education.

Secondly, the arguer implies that since Blue City invests considerably less, when compared to Parson City, the residents of Blue City do not place much value on good education. Again, such a claim has no categorical evidence to back it up. It could be possible that the reason why Blue City does not invest in their public schools is because there are not enough kids that attend public-schools in Blue City. It could be possible that children in Blue City immigrate to other cities in search for quality education. Such a behavior by the residents of Blue City does not imply that they do not value good education, rather, it could be their longing for good education which drives them to better educational institutions. And as a result, it would be quite understandable why Blue City does not invest as much as Parson City in public-schools, but it does not necessarily state that Blue City provides less importance to better education.

Lastly, the arguer compares two cities from the region of Trillura, Blue City and Parson City. After comparing these two cities, the arguer asserts that Blue City residents puts less emphasis on good education than Parson City because they invest less money in public-schools. What if we discover a city that invests lesser money than Blue City in public schools. This would mean that Blue City residents are serious about good education imparted in public-school. Hence, the method used by the arguer to compare the resident's attitude towards public education could be a flawed approach.

In sum, the conclusion and the evidence that form it's basis are fallacious in nature. As a result, it leads it erroneous and dubious interpretations of the conclusion. Hence, it cannot be categorically ascertained if the arguer's conclusion is veritable.