The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends that in order to increase the retention rate of faculty , the university should give free tuition for their children. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this argument, the author notes that it will help to boost up the morale of the faculty as well as lure in new professors. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's recommendation.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the retention rate will be higher if provided tuition waiver on the basis of study conducted in a nearby University. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground.To illustrate this, it might be possible that majority of faculty at the Oceania University might have college aged children thus making a solid case for them. But the same cannot be necessarily extended to Seatown as well. Hence the argument would have been more convincing if it explicitly stated that the majority of the faculty at Seatown have college going children.

The author also points out that this policy will help to lure in new professors . This again is a weak arguments and can be refuted. For example, how do we know that the new professors interested in joining Seatown all have college going children? They might be young and could be more interested in what research facilities and incentives the University is offering. If the argument had provided evidence or statistical data which claims that people interested in applying for the jobs are all having college going children then it would gave been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally,the author assumes that the policy will help boost up morale of the faculty. However,careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides less credible support in several key aspects. For example, is this incentive the only way of boosting up the morale? It might be the case that the faculty is more contend with incentives like promotion or salary hikes etc. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear and concrete evidence , perhaps by way of a reliable survey or a more exhaustive analysis of the need of the tuition fee waiver policy. Finally, to better assess, it would be necessary to know more information about how significantly will this policy affect the retention rate of the faculty members and how well will it be able to boost up the morale of the faculty and lure in new faculty members.