The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument needs to be supported by many major evidences. Primarily, it assumes that the condition Oceania university completely equivalent to the Seatown university.

The argument firstly fails to define the category of faculty that has higher retention at Oceania university. The evidence that needs to be provided is either the faculty members who have college-aged children retain higher or there are majority of the faculty members who have none of the college-aged children. Subsequently, it fails to compare the faculty member retention with that of Seatown university's faculty retention. It might be the case that on average the Seatown university's faculty service for more time despite not getting the free education for their own college-aged children.

Secondly, the argument suggests, to lure the new professors, the Seatown university should introduce free-tuition for their professors. Is it the same case with Oceania university? Has that university proved to attract more professors because of introducing this free-tuition policy? Is it only possible alternative to fascinate new professors? If there are other possible alternatives that prove to be cheaper than providing free-tuition for professors then it is not viable to introduce that policy.

By above argument, if it can be assumed that free-tuition policy proves to be positive for Oceania university, however is it feasible for Seatown to provide such benefit? It might be the case that Seatown has very limited budget and it might be non profit university providing education. In such cases, it would be much difficult for it to bear expenses by providing free tuition to the professors.

The argument suggests that unlike Oceania that provide free tuition for college-aged children, Seatown university should provide free tuition for its professors. This points needs strong attention, is it necessary that education for professors cost same as for child-aged children? There can be huge difference in such expenses so that needs to be addressed.

Finally, on higher level, what proves the validity of this study? Is it study published/verified by any renowned organization. It might be the case that the faculty retention calculated by the study may be false. However, if the study is true and it is feasible for Seatown to provide free tuition to enhance its reputition, it is worth it to offer such benefit.

It can be concluded that the argument needs clear verification of study conducted to suggest this benefit to Seatown university.