The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument avers that after offering free tuition of their college-aged children, Oceania University observes retention to be higher in faculty; for this reason, Seatown university should also follow the policy of Oceania University to enhance morale and attract more professors. The argument needs more evidences to prove its strength, there are several evidences missing which makes the argument flawed.

Firstly, the argument suggests that Seatown University should follow the same policy as Oceania University; only then the professors would be attracted to Oceania University and morale among professors would increase, but there is no evidences or study conducted which says that both university is compatible to each other. What worked for Oceania University will work for Seatown university as well, assuming this is not a proper argument. Seatown university may have a lot of students whose parents are professors of the same university, in that case the university will face financial problem. Perhaps, Oceania University is a very small one compared to Seatown university, so this worked in case of Oceania University. There are no other information about these two universities.

Secondly, is there any other way to allure professors in Seatown university? Do Seatown University need more professors? Perhaps Seatown university has already enough expert professors, perhaps they do not need any more professor. Professors' salaries can be increased to attract new professor, they can be provided with more facilities as well. If any of these policies work in case of Seatown University, the argument is undermined.

Thirdly, the argument does not say anywhere that before conducting the study at Oceania University, the faculty retention was lower. It is not clear that only after offering up free tuition to the children, retention went high. Is it the only reason that retention is higher now? Perhaps, the professors children are now admitted to Oceania University made the faculty retention higher, perhaps the professors are now more attentive to their works for some other reasons, perhaps they are now following some other way of teaching. There is little evidences shown about the study and more elaborated description of the study is needed to evaluate this argument.

The argument, as it stands now is flawed. It lacks specific evidences, if any of the discussed reasons of the changes in Oceania University is true, it undermines the argument.