The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The argument appearing in the letter from a homeowner suggests that Adams Realty provides better real estate service than Fitch Realty. However, the reasons used to support this are not persuasive enough to warrant that Adams Realty is superior. The argument is based on several assumptions that render the conclusion not cogent enough to warrant that Fitch Realty does not provide better service in the town.

Firstly, the argument assumes that the real estate market ten years ago is similar to the past year’s market conditions. It could be probable that the complete market ten years ago was struggling to survive due to poor economical conditions in the town. Thus, there were no customers interested to invest in real estate. Additionally, it could be possible that ten years ago there were only a few people in the town and thus customers to purchase homes were scarce. If either of these scenarios turns out to be true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the argument states that there are a lower number of agents in Fitch as compared to Adams Realty. This does not necessarily mean that the service provided by Fitch would be worse than Adams, even though some of the agents in Fitch work part time. Instead, the employees at Fitch could be more qualified than Adams Realty estate. It could be probable that Fitch hires only the most competent people in for its office in contrast to Adams. If this turns out to be true, then the assumption that more employees in an office are tantamount to providing the best services in the town falls apart.

Thirdly, the argument relies on the assumption that the agency generating the highest earnings is the best one in town. However, a reasonable criterion to assess this would be to take into consideration the totality of factors that dictate a fair judgment of a real estate’s service. Judging an office only by looking at the profits will probably not give a clear picture of whether an agency is good or not. Thus, more comprehensive data that takes into account other factors is required.

Since the argument relies on several assumptions, it is not safe to conclude that Adams Realty is the best real estate agency in the town. If the above discussed assumptions are responded with satisfactory explanations, then the argument may hold validity and safely purport that Adams Realty provides better service than Fitch Realty.