"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given letter which was written by homeowner to his friend, the homeowner suggests to his friend that if he wants to sell his home quick and at a good price, then out of Adams realty and Fitch Realty, Adams realty would be the one to choose. He suggests this based on factors such as number of agents, revenue and sales and time to sell the house. But the author states these statements without proper evidence.

First of All, the homeowner makes the assumption that more number of real estate agents is directly proportional to the quality of the real estate firm. However, we also have to consider the efficiency of agents rather than the total number. For Example, an efficient agent of Fitch realty can perform better than several agents of Adams realty which in turn affects the quality of the firm. If this is true, then the house owner’s argument is considerably weakened.

Secondly, the house owner also believes that averaging more in home sales is directly proportional to the ability of the firm to sell each house at a good price. The homeowner undermines the possibility where the average is high only due to a small portion of the house whose prices have drastically increased the average of Adams realty. There is also a possibility that Adams realty has sold only handful number of houses , though high in average sales but actually low when considered the fact that these houses were actually much more worth than the prices which they were actually sold at. In contrast, Fitch realty has sold a large number of houses with reasonable price. If these possibilities be true, then the homeowner’s argument holds no water.

Finally, homeowner also makes an assumption that the real estate market from 10 years ago is comparable with the real estate market last year. It is possible that Fitch realty has improved a lot in the course of 10 years and actually solidified their strategies and upgraded their systems in such a way that currently they are selling houses in 2 weeks’ time after being listed. The demand in market has changed a lot, so it is a mistake to compare markets 10 years apart, which yields wrong results. If any of the above examples hold merit, it strongly weakens the house owners argument that Adams Realty can sell the houses faster than Fitch Realty.

In Conclusion, the argument as it stands is flawed. However, If the house owner can provide more details and statistics in a much more researched manner it will be helpful to evaluate the claims of house owner which as of now stand unwarranted.