The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom w

The letter sent to the friend states the main assumptions lying behind the judgment of Adams Realty- one of the two leading real estate firms, being superior. They refer to the number of agents, revenues, average price of home sales and the speed of selling. In the following passages every assumption will be considered separately to understand how they can be interpreted and make a contribution to the superiority of Adams Realty.

Firstly, number of workers is being seen a gradient of being successful. I will contradict with this idea by saying that two firms of the same size, having unequal number of workers, differ in effectiveness. The priority is given to the company having small number of employees, due to the fact that it does the same work with fewer workers. Nevertheless, this can’t be true about the companies that are not equal in size or having the same amount of work. However, it is mentioned that these two companies are leading real estate firms, which means somewhat equality in size. The judgment about these two firms having the same amount of work can be biased, because all other things equal the same amount of work can be done with a smaller number of workers. So we can’t judge about the market shares of these companies.

The second point concerns the revenues. This can depend on the amount of houses sold and their prices. The fact that average prices of houses are smaller at Fitch Realty, and recalling the statement about the market share from the preceding paragraph, it can be implied that the statement of revenues giving superiority to the first company is an equivocal one. The ambiguity arises from the unknown fact about market shares.

Next point concerns the speed of selling. This is a positive factor contributing the superiority of any of firms. Even though the statement is made stronger by personal experience, it is not a reliable one due a great time lag between the similar experiences. Therefore this statement should be analyzed thoroughly before making any decision.

To summarize, I would like to say that some facts are missing to form a complete picture, therefore it will be good to analyze the number of sales of the companies and the speed of selling more scrutinously to give a proper advice on the choice between them.