The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

First of all, as the number of real estate agents is higher in Adams than in Fitch, it may not be a success indicator that the revenue of the first one was twice as high as that of the second one. For example, it can be supposed from the data presented that every agent sells houses at the same rate, taking into account also that many of the sellers who work for Fitch are hired for a part-time job. This would mean that, in terms of percentage of houses sold per agent per hour, both companies are similar, so this would mean that, in this sense, Adams Realty is not superior.

Secondly, the average value of the houses they sold might not be an indicator of their achievements. To exemplify this, if Adams Realty had houses that were $200,000 worth as an average and they sold them for $168,000, and Fitch Realty had ones that were $100,000 worth and they sold them for $144,000, it is clear that Fitch’s would be superior to the first company in terms of obtaining benefits. As the average value of the houses that both real estate firms had is not part of the data provided, it cannot be concluded that, in terms of benefits, Adams is superior.

Thirdly, regarding the fourth sentence, as anyone with basic knowledge about economics would know, demand is a parameter that is hugely variable along time, both short-term and long-term. This means that, unless an equivalence formula is applied to bring both cases to the same time scenario in order to compare them regardless from the demand difference, the comparison made cannot hold as a superiority proof. As well as this, it should be highlighted that the houses that the homeowner compares are different, so the second one may have been more appealing for the customers than the first one, and this could have been the reason for its faster sale. For both reasons, this sentence is almost useless for proving the claim made.

In conclusion, the only argument that can prove the superiority of Adams Realty against Fitch Realty is the number of employees, as the other ones would need more data to support their validity to reach that conclusion. However, in terms of benefit to the customer, as he will be attended by only one agent, the number of employees is completely unimportant, so it can be concluded that the statement made would need more data to verify its validity.