People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is undeniable that our environment has a huge influence in the way we develop our personality and behaviour. However, it would be excessive, from my point of view, to assure that it determines entirely our behaviour, as it would lead to the disappearance of every personal ethics and responsibility of our own acts. In this sense, I do not strongly disagree, neither completely agree with the statement. In the next paragraphs I will present arguments that have influenced my thought.

First of all, our education helps us to develop our morality. Bullying, a problem that hugely concerns our society nowadays, appears principally because of a lack of proper education, according to many psychological studies. As our ethics subdues our behavior, and it is the soil in which the foundations of our judgments and actions are installed, it is unquestionable that education has to be posed as one of the biggest influences in it.

Secondly, this statement also holds true in extreme necessity cases. To exemplify this, imagine that a mendicant does not have any money, and he is starving and absolutely thirsty. In this case, although he/she knows that stealing is a bad act, he/she would need to do it, in order to avoid his own death. The discussion about the morality of this action is beyond the scope of this text; nevertheless, this example helps to understand that, although we may have strong moral thoughts, derived from our own experience in life, our behavior can betray them in cases of extreme need.

On the other hand, this claim may not hold true in many crime cases which do not involve survival as a factor. Is there any person who has not given as an excuse that his brother or sister has started the scuffle when his/her parents reprimanded him for beating he/she? Who cannot remember any criminal case in which the committer tries to excuse himself by saying that he was under drug effects? Although these examples may seem as simple alibies, the reason that underlies them is a strong agreement with the statement presented. If everyone accepted the consequences of his/her actions, and did not try to find excuses in the environment that has influenced him/her, it would mean that this claim is bogus.

In conclusion, I am convinced that we should not view ourselves as victims of our environment, who are not able to change their behavior because it is completely defined by uncontrollable forces. Instead of this, we ought to be conscious that, notwithstanding our environment can influence us, we are still capable of making our own decisions and behave as we want to, although restrained to some limits.