People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

It is easy to see the connection between outside, intangible forces and the resulting behavior. However, the blanket statement that behavior is determined by these forces represents too extreme an idea. Elements outside of our control tend to be situational and are only one of several different categories of factors that can influence the way we behave.

There are numerous forces that determine behavior. Some are internal, such as memory and instinct, while others remain external. There are countless complex factors at play any any given moment concerning particular decisions or behaviors. One cannot simply state that the way we act is a result solely on forces not of our own making. This idea suggests that given identical environments and circumstances, individuals would all act the same. This ideology overlooks the other internal factors that vary from individual to individual. The memory of past experiences is perhaps the most relevant of such. For instance, when we go to a restaurant, our entree selection is based on our likes, dislikes, and memory of the restaurant's culinary performance. Perhaps one decides to research the best meal on the menu. There are conscious decisions that are made that ultimately build up and yield a given behavior.

Indeed building off this is the age old argument "nature vs nurture". This plays off the similar idea that behavior is fixed based off of uncontrollable factors. It is easy to conclude that because of someone's genetic predisposition that they will act a certain way. But time and time again, examples confound and overturn this hypothesis. Children of alcoholics are deemed more likely to become alcoholics themselves. However, it is often seen that children in these situations often defer to adopting opposite behaviors steering clear of alcohol altogether. Based on the observed and experienced hardships, the negativity, the toxicity of alcoholism, children actively choose not to participate. There is a significant element of internal proactivity and decision making that aids in determining their behavior.

In conclusion, forces not of our making inarguably play a role in determining behavior. However, these are quite clearly not the only factors to consider when examining individualized decision making and subsequent actions. We must assess both internal and external

elements if we are to have a more clear idea of what determines behavior.