The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author wrote a letter to his friend suggesting that between the two leading real estate firms- Adams Realty and Fitch realty Adams realty is more superior because Adam has more real estate agent agents comparatively to Fitch as Fitch has only 25 out which many are part time. The revenue of Adam was twice as high as that of Fitch and Home listed with Adams sell faster. The author has listed his home with Fitch 10 years ago and it took him four months to sell and when he listed the home in Adam last year took only month. So the author wants his friend to use Adam Realty as it sell's your home quickly and at good price. But this might not be agreeable.

Firstly, Adam might be superior as the Adam has forty real estate agent and Fitch has 25 out which many are part-timers. But there is no proof that the part timers are inefficient. We have no idea that agents of Adam are more efficient. There might be case where the agents of Adam must have shifted of the Fitch due to more proficient work culture. We cannot determine the efficiency of Adam Realty just because it has more real estate agents.

Secondly, The revenue of Adam Realty might be high comparatively to the Fitch but there procedures of buying and selling the property must not be that proper where as the Fitch procedures and methods of buying and selling a property might be more accurate comparatively to the Adam. Fitch might be following all the government policy as suggested. Fitch must b planning a long term goal instead of a short term. Many customers might be satisfied with the procedures of Fitch.

Thirdly, The author said that the home listed in Adam sell faster. As he listed his house at Fitch ten years ago and it took four months to sell. The data is ten years ago we cannot conclude the ten year old data with last year or present data. Now Fitch must be more efficient then Adam. Fitch might take less than one month to sell the property that too with proper procedures.Fitch might sell the property for very good money comparatively to Adam. The author did not try to list his house recently so we cannot conclude with the ten years old data.

By the above examples we can conclude that with-out proper information one cannot directly suggest Adam. We need to dig more information about Fitch ten years old data is not sufficient and it cannot be compared with the present or last year. The revenue might be higher for Adam but they did not mention any particular year about the revenue there might be lot of changes in the meantime for Fitch as well. As we do not have any idea about the rules and procedures of Adam you cannot assume directly that Adam is more superior than Fitch.