The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Over the past year, our late-right news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the argument concludes that it is better to increase the weather and local news time to its former level; however, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is because it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that complaints about coverage of weather and local news have happened because of increasing in national news and decreasing in the weather and local news time. However, there is no evidence to prove that complaints about the weather and local news coverage actually happened because of less time. For example, maybe these complaints happened because the quality of the news has been decreased. Or maybe complaints take occurred because the number of viewers proliferates due to the increase in the national news time and new audiences complained about the coverage of weather and local news.

The writer of arguments states that local businesses have canceled their late-night news program advertising contracts. Another problem with the argument is that there is no evidence to address that as a result of which local businesses canceled their advertising contracts. Somebody may assume that these cancellations have been occurred due to the number of viewers inclined, however, As I mentioned above, maybe the number of news audiences increased.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the number of viewers decreased. However, in many ways, this is not true. As I mentioned, maybe more viewers attracted to the program. Complaints about the coverage of news and the time of local and national news cannot lead to decreasing in audiences.

The Forth problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the number of viewers influences the businesses' decision about contracts, but maybe they only track the revenue of advertisement and nothing else matters for them.

In the final analysis, the writer's conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.