The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on foundationless assumptions including a month is a sufficient amount of time to show specific findings residents are willing to voice their opinions. Concluding Sunnside Towers complex will increase in profits because of modifying showerheads to restrict water flow based on the prior stated assumptions, is unreasonable.

Firstly, the author fails to provide evidence to support the assumed results in the letter. The author states the actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not available yet and it is still suggested that water usage will not change. It could be possible because of the restriction of water flow in the showerheads, the residents of Sunnyside Towers are spending more time in the shower compared to before this change. This would not show considerable savings for the cooperation because instead of spending 10 minutes in the shower, the residents may spend 20 dues to the low water pressure. The lack of data presented by the owner renders the assumed results as unreliable because there is no guarantee or hard evidence to argue that water usage will stay static. On the other hand, if the author waited to receive the readings of water usage before and after the adjustment of showerheads, the argument would deem to be more plausible because realistic data would be provided. In either case, there is no way to be sure that the residents will not change the time they spend in the shower.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine the water usage and time spent in the shower in the 3 buildings of Sunnyside stays constant, it is still baseless to conclude residents have no problem with this change. Though only a few complaints have been reported to the corporation, the author continues to speculate all other residents of the 3 complex buildings have positive thoughts on the adjustment. Some people are more candid than others and are able to voice their complaints to management, it is also possible that a majority of the residents living in the complexes are unwilling to share their feelings about the new change to the employees. It could also be that a majority of residents in Sunnyside are not willing to complain to the staff but are willing to complain to other citizens of the area. This may cause others thinking about moving into the apartment complex to rethink their decision and the company could actually lose revenue because less people are interested in living at Sunnyside. Because the author fails to consider other aspects that could alter the results seen, the argument is weakened. However, if the company sent out a mandatory survey for all residents to fill out stating their thoughts of the change and included the results in the argument, then it would hold more validity. But even so, it can’t be said that a great number of residents would favor this change.

Lastly, the arguer implies the outcome seen in the 3 buildings will be an accurate representation of the whole complex. For example, if there are on 100 people living in those 3 buildings combined but there are 10,000 people residing in the whole complex then the results seen in the 3 building would not be sufficient to conclude the same outcomes will also be seen in the other buildings. The comparison made by the author would be illogical, which would further undermine the argument.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author is unsuccessful in compiling a compelling case to prove the restriction of water flow in the showerheads in the apartment complex will indeed benefit the company’s profits.