The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager One month ago all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one

The author of the argument concludes that modifying showerheads in all twelve buildings will increase the profits further. However, that conclusion is based on number of inadequately supported assumptions. Without having more clarity on those assumptions, it is difficult to say whether it is right move.

To begin with, the author claims that there will be considerable amount of savings without analyzing the water consumption changes as water usage readings are not available. Without having sufficient data it cannot be decided that the step taken is fruitful. It would have been a fair argument if author would have made some arrangements to get water usage readings, analyze and then come to the conclusion.

Another weakness in the argument is, since there are a few complaints received on water pressure reduction, one cannot come to an conclusion that the residents are not bothered about it. There might be several reasons why several complaints are not received. For example, in past one month the number of residents who stayed in the apartments might be much lesser than previous months as residents might have gone for vacations. One more reason for few complaints is residents might have thought of giving it a try for sometime and may complain in the upcoming months. There could be many other reasons for not receiving many complaints. Just by observing one month change, one cannot come to a conclusion that the change is acceptable to the residents.

One more flaw in the conclusion made by author is that by making this change to all twelve buildings, the result will be same as three buildings. The major flaw is, this conclusion is made based on an assumption that the residents in twelve buildings' residents nature and attitude are similar first three buildings' residents. There might be a chance that people in first three buildings dont use shower much or maybe they are not much bothered about the water pressure. While the residents in remaining nine buildings might have more problems than the first three. Also, author made an assumption that reducing water flow will reduce water usage, there might be a chance that the residents in the nine buildings might spend more time than before in shower and reduction of flow of water will be compensated by the extra time usage while first three buildings spend similar time in showers irrespective of change in water flow.

At the end, unless these assumptions are made clear and there is sufficient data to analyze, Sunnyside Towers cannot come to a conclusion it is right step to modifying in twelve buildings.