The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While it maybe true that corporate will save more money with reducing the water pressure of showerheads in the Sunnyside Tower complex, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case to increase profit. It is easy to understand that with only few complaints from first three building other nine building might be fine with the showerheads’ adjustments too, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her claim.

First of all, the author mentions that only few complaints about low water pressure have been reported from three building since last month; however, the author does not mention the total number of residents and total number of complaints from those three buildings. Also, complains are just for last month which are not good enough because the owner of the complex might get more complaints in the future from those same three building.

Moreover, the author promises high profits for the corporation without knowing the exact usage of water before and after showerheads changes. The author just accepts that people are going to use less water with the new showerhead changes, but probably, residents are going to spend more time to use water because the pressure is lower than before. Thus, the corporate will not save money as the author promises because more water will be used and they should pay for it.

In addition, the author concludes that same number of residents for other nine building are going to complain like those three buildings; however, people living in other nine building might have different reactions to water flow adjustment compare to residents in first three buildings. For example, residents in other nine building might be more busy employees with less extra time to spend under shower which can bring the number of complaints higher than number of complaints in the first three buildings.

Lastly but not least, indicating the range age of population of each building is important because it can affect the numbers of complaints. For example, it might be more elderly and retirement residents in the first three building which can result in less complains because usually elderly have more time to spend under shower. On the other hand, the range age for other nine building can be from parents’ population which is probably going to bring more complaints about the water pressure change. The reason is because parents are already so busy with their works and kids. Thus, they might get more frustrated to spend more time under shower.

The author can make his/her claims persuasive when he/she gathers information about age group and total number occupied residents per building and also the water usage number before and after showerheads changes.