The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author presents a dubious claim modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase the profits. The author presents this claim on the basis of an one month old decision, when all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be, and assures that the change will result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation pay for water each month. Let us look at the various false assumptions made in presenting the claim.

First, the author believes that making alterations to the existing showerheads will increase profits. Showerheads are not the only source of water wastage. The entire water distribution system might have clogged due to rusting or other pipeline issues. Lack of flowing force in water across the pipeline can also lead to unchecked electric consumptions, hence increasing the water bills. For example, when the entire water distribution system is clogged due to excessive rusting, lack of steady flow of water through the pipeline would lead to increased pressure on the rotating motor, responsible for filling up the water storage system of the entire corporation.

Secondly, the author mentions that he/she has received some complaints regarding low water pressure. Low water pressure can be a result of lack of adequate groundwater level below the foundation of the entire Sunnyside complex. This will in turn, lead to increased duration of operations for the water motors. Consequentially, more electricity consumptions. To visualize, it generally takes sixty to seventy minutes for a 40kW water motor to fill up a water storage tank of two thousand liter capacity, in presence of a ten meter groundwater level. If the groundwater level is below that standard level, the same motor is bound to work for more than ninety minutes to fill up even half of the tank.

Third, the author's claim is based on unproven figures as actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available. There are no dead certainties that the figures will be in favor of the author. If the above-mentioned two points are taken into consideration during calculation of the water readings, then it can be assumed with quiet certainty that the figures will be higher on the negative side. Moreover, restriction of maximum water flow should not be imposed as this would interfere with the lifestyle of the flat owners. There can be situations, such as during a family get-togethers, when a particular flat consumes more than their usual water consumptions.

To conclude, the argument might have been strengthened if only the author had provided with enough evidences and proven case studies to show that modifications of showerheads will lead to increased profits for the complex.