The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The school boards letter concludes that there has to be a mandatory drivers ed class in the high school due to the increase in teenage car accidents in the last 2 years. The school boards argument supposes that this type of class is highly beneficial because it will help parents who have busy schedules that are not able to adequately teach their children how to drive, as well as will aid in the lack of financial resources that families experience with these drivers ed classes. However, the school boards argument is unreliable because it assumes that Centerville Highschool is the only feasible location for a drivers ed class as well as falsely concludes that having a school sponsored mandatory drivers ed class will alleviate the financial burden that drivers ed classes have put on families.

The school board incorrectly assumes that the only feasible location for have a drivers ed class is at Centerville high. Instead, the school board should be asking the question if school has to be the only option for these individuals to take the class? There are many students who are not able to drive and do not want to drive due to cultural and personal beliefs. By the school making these teenagers take this required course would be a wrongdoing in their part. Highschool should be an environment where students feel comfortable learning and taking classes that will solely benefit their individuals goals and belief system. If driving is not want of their goals or beliefs then the school needs to be considering other locations for this type of drivers ed class.

Additionally, the school board incorrectly presumes that having a school sponsored required drivers ed class will help parents who cannot afford to pay for drivers ed. Instead, school needs to be calculating and asking the question on how many families cannot actually afford drivers ed? Instead of making everyone take this drivers ed class, especially the individuals who can readily afford drivers ed outside of school, the school should be looking at different ways to offer the families who need it most some financial assistance. By doing this they can take care of the families who need the most help with affording these programs so they can take drivers ed in the location of their choosing.

Overall, the school boards argument can be improved by asking these types of questions and gathering feedback. The answers to these questions would help evaluate the efficacy pf this program while considering alternatives towards the implementation of a drivers ed class in the school curriculum.