In this letter, a committee of homeowners in Deerhaven argue that in order to raise property value in Deerhaven, there needs to be certain restrictions on landscaping the yards and housepainting. They are making this claim by pointing out that seven years ago, another group of homeowners in a different place set similar restrictions and then, their average property value tripled. This argument is based on many false assumptions.

First of all, as it is mentioned in the letter, this is what homeowners of Brookville community did. This should raise the question that is it also going to work in Deerhaven? Not to mention, this was 7 years ago. There is not a single evidence present to prove that the strategy will also work today. Moreover, we don't even know how many of the homeowners actually abided by the rules. The standards set by the committee of homeowners in Brookville might not have been pleasant changes for everyone. A closer examination into the matter needs to be done.

Secondly, this is an obvious case of correlation and not causation. The huge rise of property value in Brookville is likely due to an entirely different reason than what is mentioned. There might be certain changes in that area that have made something more accessible or the area more pleasant to live in. These changes are much more likely to cause an increase in the prices of homes in the area than housepainting or landscaping the lawn.

The writers of the letter then continue to make a conclusion based on such false assumptions. They claim that in order to raise the property value in Deerhaven, residents need to adopt similar changes. I actually don't disagree with making the house and the lawn look better. Doing so will certainly help raise value; looks matter. However, it is not wise to expect such drastic changes in value by making such a small changes. Looks certainly matter and they will help sell the house, but you shouldn't expect it to triple the value or anything remotely close to that.

To wrap it up, I do believe that painting the house and lanscaping the lawn could be helpful in this matter. However, the assumption that another area made these changes and then became more valuable because of it and therefore residents of Deerhaven should adopt these changes as well, is completely flawed.