The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the budget planner for the city of Grandview recommends diminishing the funding allocated for the Grandview Symphony from the budget of next year by the city of Grandview. The budget planner has provided evidences of increased private contributions to the symphony, doubled attendance at the symphony’s concerts-in-the-park and increased ticket prices for the next year in order to support the recommendation. However, before deciding whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result, these following three questions must be answered properly.

First of all, will private contributions to the symphony increase in the upcoming years as it was the case for last year? The author, without any evidence, assumes that this increasing trend of private contribution will always tend to continue. However, this may not be the case. It is very likely that private contributions to the symphony will drastically reduce in the upcoming years instead of increasing or keeping a constant number. If this is the case, then eliminating government funding to the symphony will bring a disastrous future. It will not do any good for the symphony rather exacerbate the present situation. The budget planner fails to provide any evidence for this and so the argument is seriously flawed.

Secondly, was the number of people attending at the symphony’s concerts-in-the-park series last year a significant number to consider? The author prematurely supposes that the doubled attendance in last year is a huge number of attendances to consider. It is possible that the number of people attending the symphony’s concerts was only 20 double than its previous record of attendances of 10 only. If this case has merit, then the number of attendances will not provide any indication of the success of the symphony. Then cutting down government funding for the symphony will be very deleterious. The budget planner fails to provide necessary evidences for this and so the argument is seriously weakened.

Finally, won’t the announcement of increased ticket price next year have any harmful effect in the success of the symphony? The author assumes without any evidence that people who want to attend the concert are capable of providing that amount of money to enjoy the concert series. In reality, this may not be true. It is very possible that the number of people attending in the concerts will be deduced due to this increase in ticket price. They won’t want to pay so much money for enjoying a mere concert rather they will save it for upcoming future. The argument fails to provide necessary evidence for this issue and so it does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it relies on unwarranted assumptions which may turn out to be invalid later. If the author is able to provide satisfactory answers for the above stated three questions and provide necessary evidences for supporting them , then the argument can be evaluated properly and take the recommendation to consider. Otherwise, the argument will remain flawed as it is on surface.