The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This memo from the budget planner of Grandview city seeks to cut budget cost to prevent future budget deficit. While the recommendation is plausible, is it based on the assumption that Grandview symphony is self-sufficient based on their success last year Therefore there seems to be a prediction of next year’s success based on last year’s success. However certain questions have to be effectively answered to evaluate the recommendation. This response addresses a few of the required questions.

Firstly, how is the Grandview orchestra doing this year? That is In terms of their success. What is the attendance rate of the programs and how well acclaimed is the symphony? These questions are important to examine the current level of the orchestra. The argument is building solely on past success without considering the current situation of the orchestra. If the orchestra is performing better than, or at least as good as, last year, this recommendation may be considered plausible. However, it is important to also consider the performance trend in the last 5 years to accurate deduce that current success is constant and it is not transient.

Secondly, what portion of last year’s private contributors are interested in investing next and how many invested this year? This is important to assure that the current level of private funding will not decline. If this question cannot be answered positively, the assumption that the orchestra would be self-sufficient next year is faulty. This would eventually affect the success of the symphony.

Thirdly, what are the measures put in place to ensure sustained or increased level of attendance? This is to effectively ascertain that the numbers or attendees would not drop in subsequent years since half of the success determinant of the success of the symphony is the cost of tickets. A decline in attendance would imply that less people would but tickets; this would affect the funding of the symphony and by extension their success.

In conclusion, the recommendation by the budget planner has to be evaluated to endure that the supposed success and self-sufficiency of the orchestra is not transient; also that funding and financial support would be constantly available till next year. Ability to effectively answer these questions implies that that claim is accurate and the symphony would not be requiring government funding next year.