Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Effective leadership is best achieved when leaders do what is right regardless of what their followers think. By this, they set a good precedent for future leaders. Therefore sound moral judgement, the ability to effectively delineate right and wrong, is a more important leadership quality than the ability to maintain the respect of leadership peers.

When a leader is able to effectively distinguish between right and wrong he proves that he is not easily prone to bias. For example, in an office where a manager notices employees pilfering commodities when he challenges erring employees for doing wrong, he immediately places himself on a high moral pedestal. This gives him the responsibility to maintain his moral uprightness by not falling victim to bias. This ultimately imbibes an attribute of impartiality that is most evidient in every model leader because he leads by example and followers observe and learn from him. It also dispels any form of enmity within employees.

A leader with sound moral judgement gains the respect of his follower compared to a leader who only seeks respect from his fellow leaders. A study by a group of behavioural psychologists on manger-employee relationships, showed that employees spoke more highly of their leaders when they observed that they were morally upright. This is backed up by an example of a pharmacy store where sales attendants are observed to be punctual to work because the superintendent pharmacist is regularly punctual. This supports the claim that leaders gain the respect of their followers when they are morally upright. Only in this respect can there be effective leadership.

While obtaining the respect of peer leaders is also important in that it fosters a good relationship between leaders and followers. This respect should not be gotten at the expense of moral judgement. This eventually leads to the ridicule of the leader because the respect that is not obtained morally is easily lost by the followers. This counters effective leadership.

In Summary, sound moral judgement poses a greater benefit to leadership that respect because, sound moral judgement is certain to eventually result in respect for leaders. Whereas respect at the expense of moral probity has adverse consequence on the long-term.