The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Interference is a major factor that affects the ability to make crucial decisions for important matters. The recommendation in this letter to restrict the membership pf the committee for a Better Oak City is good as it may yiel the desired effects. However, for this recommendation to be critically evaluated certain question have to be answered; the answers to this question would determine if recommendation is plausible.

Are the current residents of Oak City interested in the committee membership? This is a very crucial to answer before advertisement is been made calling for membership. Residents of the city must have the interest to contribute as members; if they are forced they would make wrong decisions and argue with one another. This would result is the same outcome as is currently seen with non-residents. A positive answer to the question assures the committee that citizens who are passionate about oak city would be participating in makin decisions.

In addition to interest, do current residents of oak city have the skills and knowledge sufficient to make siginificant contributions and recommendations? Do they have good interpersonal relationships and are there sufficiently educated to serve on the committee? This question analyses the suitablility of residence to serve as members of the committee. It as assesses their capacity to function effectively on the committee. Residents who are not abreast on current market trend and economic trends would make facile contributions on how to allocate the available resources based on the limited budget, this defeats the overall purpose of the committee.

Also, what were the ‘foolish objections’ made the current non-residents members of the committee? By who’s opinion are these objections considered inadequate? It is important to consider the validity of the contributions made my non-residents because they stand to have experiences from their various cities of residents which may be beneficial in considering all possibilities in arriving at committee desicion. If the validity if their contributions are ascertained they should be considered and members of the committee.

In conclusion, this are a few of the questions to be considered by the committee before accepting the recommendation stated in the Oak City Gazette. A positive response to the question signifies a plausibility of the recommendation and certainty of the prediction.