The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings, we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter which appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper states that without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work. On the premise that, due to the interference of non-residents they were unable to make a decision in their recent meetings, only residents would understand how the money paid as tax for Oak city could be used, and residents are more knowledgeable about their city than non-residents. However, the author of the letter came to this conclusion based on three unreliable assumptions, if not substantiated, which dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, only residents would understand how the money paid as tax for Oak city could be used and non-residents who do not pay any tax should not be members of the committee. When it comes to how to use the money to develop a city an outside perspective can help a lot as their perspective would be purely based on what they can see, so when it comes to using the money for development the non-residents can help the city more by suggesting ideas that the other city in which they are living has implemented or is planning to implement. If the above case is true then the author's argument might not hold water.

Second of all, only residents know how the politics and business of the city work, on what basis is this conclusion being made? When it comes to knowing business non-residents could be the most efficient in doing the business, as they the market outside of Oak they can suggest the plans to increase the business of the Oak city and improve its funding.

Lastly, due to the interference of non-residents, they were unable to make a decision in their recent meetings are the non-residents the only members of the committee who are making the foolish objection in a committee that decides the matters of city suggestions made cannot be categorized, as any suggestion made by non-residents might have been not foolish but tested and have proven to be useless in their resident. If the above case is true then the author needs further evidence for persuasion of the removal of non-residents.

In conclusion, the author’s suggestion of removal of non-residents of Oak city in the letter published the local newspaper as they do not know the politics, business and since they do not pay the city tax might hold water if the author can provide further evidence on the unreliable assumptions.