A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A curriculum is a course of study which is set by an educational institution for the students to follow and complete their education. In the prompt, it is stated that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter their college. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this prompt for the following three reasons.

Firstly, when there is a curriculum that is set for an entire nation there is no choice for the young generation to pursue their own interests. For instance, when the curriculum set by the nation focuses on an area which an individual might not be interested in, then the student does not have a choice of pursuing his interests untill he enters a college which might lead him to underperforming as a result. If the above instance stand true then the statement given in the prompt might not hold water.

Secondly, If the curriculum for an entire nation is set to be the same, then there might not be many young flexible and brilliant minds that could come out of this curriculum. For instance, when the entire nation follows the same curriculum there is not a necessity for the young to think out of the box as the curriculum has already been set in a particular pattern. So, if they could just follow the curriculum then the students could get higher scores despite their lack of flexible thinking as they might not face any problems in the curriculum, which could lead then to not developing their problem solving abilities. If either of the above case stands true then the statement in the prompt is not persuasive.

Lastly, when there is a national curriculum the there are a lot of younger generation who are now second guessing their choice of course to enter a college. For instance, a student who has followed a single pattern set by the nation and its curriculum without any choice of his interest, without any changes in the course, now has to select a course of study to enter the college some of the students who complete this national curriculum might get bombarded with a number of choices and be unable to select a course for entering the college and again lean towards the most popular course as it is a trend. If the above case stands true then a suggestion to set a national curriculum might not ne right course of action for a nation and its students.

Of course, some may argue that the students by following a national curriculum could bring the standards of the education higher and become uniform. However, a curriculum has to be set for the students according to their interested course of study, if an entire nation follows a single curriculum then the students are the ones to suffer as they could not pursue their interests from an early age and now are unable to decide which path to take when they need to enter the college, there could be some compulsory subjects in the curriculum, but it is necessary for the curriculum to be open as the students could pursue their interest along with those compulsory subjects. Thus the statement given by the promptmight not be an appropriiate one.