There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The paragraph given states that the residents of Leeville due to their relaxed pace of life have comparatively longer lives than the residents of Masonton who are accustomed to a hectic pace of life as it is a big city. However, the conclusion might not hold water, as it stands on several unfounded assumptions if not substantiated would dramatically weaken the argument. Thus the following three alternative explanations must be addressed.

Firstly, the report on the businesses in the small town of Leeville reports fewer days of sick leaves taken by individual workers than the businesses in the large city of Masonton. Is the report made valid enough? As the larger city is more populous the number of leaves could have been more when compared to the small town where the population amounts to just one thousand. Since there are more individual workers the number of sick leaves reported from Masonton could be more than Leeville.

Lastly, it is stated that a relaxed pace of life promotes better health and greater longevity compared to a hectic pace of life in the big cities. On what basis is the comparison being made? When comparing two different lifestyles there is further evidence that is needed to persuade the readers to adopt the lifestyle recommended by the author, For instance, if a resident of the big city even though life is hectic in the city Is taking care of himself by doing physical exercises and taking healthy foods he may live longer compared to the resident of a small town. However, if the above case is true the author needs further evidence to persuade the readers.

In conclusion, the people of the small town of Leeville might have healthier and longer lives due to their relaxed pace of life compared to the hectic lifestyle of Masonton. However, as it stands now the argument stands on two unreliable assumptions made by the author, for these assumptions to hold water the author needs more persuasive evidence.