The following appeared in the memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

“In a controlled loboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals During our recent test of regular-strength Ultra clean ith doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly lower cases of patient infection (20 percent reduction) than did any other hospitals in our group. Therefore to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply ultraClean at all hand-ashing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system.”

The passage provides a glint of the patient infection scenario, and the final stand taken by the director with the available evidences. However, the data may not be sufficient to make a proper conclusion about the situation.

First and foremost, the Lab study has been done only for a concentrated version of the UltraClean. A better ay to study the effectiveness would have been to use the same concentration UltraClean in the Workton hospital, so that we could obtain a correlation between the percentage reduction in harmful bacteria and the reduction of patient infection achieved.

Secondly, there is no data about the concentration level of the concentrated UltraClean used in the initial study and the regular-strength UltraClean used in Worktown hospital. Hence, it is not possible to say with absolute certainity, whether soap concentration has any effect on the reduction of harmful bacteria. This also means that we can not come to a conclusion about what concentration level of soap would be optimum for use in the hospitals.

Thirdly, There is no evidence to suggest that reduction in harmful bacteria can reduce the number of patient infections

Also, We don not have suffiecient evidence to suggest that the reduction in patient infection achieved in Worktown is only due to the UltraClean soap used. Correlation does not necessarily mean Causation. It could have been due to other causes, such as having less percentage of contagious infections in that period of study, or better isolation of patients to prevent infection etc.