The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In his memo the director of the group of some hospitals claims the idea that using UltraClean hand soap will help to avoid serious infections, on the top of that he suggests to use it for the whole hospital system. While he provides some facts and arguments to support this view point, the memo indeed contains several logical flaws.

The first fact which undermines the successes of this implementation is that the memo confuses several types of the hand soap. In the beginning, the director provides the results of test in which extra strength soap was used, after we read information on regular-strength soap. In the end, the director comes to the idea to supply UltraClean, but it is lucid which type he proposes. Considering that there is no certainty that using that UltraClean for the hospital system will help to prevent infections.

On the top of that, there is no little evidence that the correlation between using this hand soap and decreasing infections exist. Though the memo provides twenty percent falling in the number of infections, it does not prove that it happened because of the hand soap. Perhaps, other aspects had affected this reduction in a greater way. For instance, the number of the clients was fewer last months or the hospital invested more money on a cleaning process and hired more workers.

Moreover, the comparison of the hospital in Worktown with the rest in the group of hospitals is not supportive at all. The memo provides neither information on the scale of this group nor the characteristics of every hospital separately. For example, other hospitals might have a higher percent of infections, because they have more clients than that one in Worktown. Moreover, we do not know how many medical establishments were included in this group. If it is large-scaleб, that the possibility that some hospitals with higher percent of infections can be found increases.

To sum up, based on the arguments provided in the essay, we cannot rely on the success of the idea to use UltraClean for decreasing of infections in the whole hospital system.