The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College states there is a need to build new dormitory in order to accommodate new enrollment, as they are growing significantly day by day. Although this might seem a good idea, there are some pitfalls behind the planning.

The general idea taken into consideration is that most of the enrollment in the college live in a different city, which are vey far away from the college. If that's not the case, then most of the students enrolling will be living in their homes and not in dormitory, ultimately creating less requirement of existing dormitories in the universities. Also, the commute facility to different towns attached to Birmigham are not taken into consideration, which might cause a decrease in surge of dorms required ny new enrollment.

Now, even if there is the requirement of new dormitory to be build, there needs to be a cost that is needed to be allocated in order to initiate it's construction. And that cost will massively come out of the funds that are usually allocated to the university either by grants, or from the fees taken from students. This, in turn, might cause some budget cuts from different elective fields in the university, which in effect would hurt the professors as well as students in the electives. Also, there might be a stress on the fees of existing and enrolling students due to immediate requirement of funds to build those dorms.

And finally, to assume that a student would enroll in a university based on just availability of dorms is just absurd and childish. A prospective student always tend to take many matters into his/her mind while enrolling in an university, including the field of study in which they want to go, how is the faculty of the university, the gross output of university i.e. how many students graduating have either got jobs or are currently in a venture. The matter of living in a dormitory is a trifling matter when considered amongst the above ones.

Also, the matter of increasing enrollment would significantly affect all the other colleges, in which there is a finite intake of students per branch, which in turn might cause many students to withdraw their application from the university eventually. The director of student housing must keep this in mind that increasing threshold might cause the standard of education to deplete, which in turn would tarnish the education of the university.

In conclusion, I would commend the general idea behind the director's motivation to build new dormitories for the welfare of the student, but to consider 50 years of period in order to build them might be a bit too absurd, and might cause valuable funds to the university. So, a plan must be devised by the dignitaries along with the director of student housing in order to come up with the dormitories that could sustain finite intake of universities and would cause least stress on the university funds.