The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author has presented his reasons as to why he suggests that Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories and although the reasons may be considered valid but they are flawed because of a number of reasons and gives rise to numerous doubts which makes the proposotion the the author is putting forward that much less compelling. The following are the points that make the authors proposition suceptible to failing.

Firstly, the author points out that Buckingham College's enrollment is growing and based on the current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making the existing dormitory space inadequate. But the question to ask here is whether the current dormitory space available being fully occupied by the students. It may be true that the enrollment will double in the next 50 years, but the students might not prefer living on campus in the next 50 years just as they might not prefer it right now. This could be because of a number of reasons like the cost of the dormitories being higher than the cost of renting a shared apartment or simply even the independence it gives the students when they live on their own. Since it is not clear if the students currently prefer living in the dormitories or not and if they don't then spending resources on building a number of new dormitories may not prove fruitful.

Secondly, the auhtor states that the average rent for an apartment in the town has risen in recent years and consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. But what the author fails to look at is that if the reason behind the rise in the appartment rent is because more and more students have started living off campus. The author doesn't state anywhere in the proposition the comparision between the cost of living in a rented apartment and that of living in a dormitory. There may be a major difference between the two and since college is generally expensive for most of the people, the students might prefer the less expensive option which leds to the increase in the appartment rent. And this may not be the only reason for the apartment rent increase. And it can be possible that with the increased number of students in the area, more appartment complexes might be created in the area which will provide the students with better accomodation and they might not prefer living in the dormitory at all.

Apart from this, the author says that attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham College. But there is no guarantee that this might happen. If the author stated this on the basis some kind of statistic or survey in which attractive new dormitories was a preference of students of higher importance than other factors then the constructions of new dormitories might attract students to enroll at Buckingham College.

Therefore the proposition that the author put forward to suggest construction of new dormitories at Buckingham College are fallacious and without more solid evidence, the argument is not very compelling.