Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I disagree with the statement that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. The reason for my stance on the topic can be elucidated by the following points.

I believe that formal education gives us an opportunity to a structured education. This structure has been developed by experienced professionals and they are meant for the ease and benefit for every individual. Formal education brings in a certain discipline to the chaotic knowledge that we will be gaining as we grow up. Formal education trains our mind to think in a systematic manner because we have been taught to do so since childhood. This aids in arriving at various decisions that we will later take in life not to be whimsical but to be well pondered over.

Moreover, a formal education provides a well balanced knowledge for various fields of life. This makes us more aware of what is happening in the world. It gives us a lot of exposure to the various fields and thus helps us to draw from this knowledge and make us well equipped to make well informed decisions. It helps us in dealing with various kinds of decisions that we will be taking in our lives.

On the other hand, I do have to agree that although formal education is a structured one, it may sometimes end up in restraining the thought process of an individual as sometimes we find it difficult to break free form the pattern of thinking and doing things that we are used to. Formal education, because of being disciplined, may sometimes end up in restricting the mind to wander and discovering things on it's own. It can sadly, end up thwarting the imagination process of an individual. Just like a simple mathematics problem. As long as all the mathematical rules are followed, there can be more than one way to arrive at the solution and this is not going to be taught to us, we are supposed to discover the alternate solution to the one that we have been taught on our own. Similarly in life also we need to let our mind to wander and to be free sometimes when we need to arrive at a decision that will affect our life.

That being said, I do feel that sometimes formal education can restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free but more often than not it equips us in dealing with the problems in our life in a better way. So I disagree with the author's statement.