The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The part of the letter to the scientific journal gives insights on the effect of birth order on an individual's level of simulation. The observations made during the study on the rhesus monkeys state that the firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much hormone coristol, which primes the body for increased activity levels as to their young siblings. A similar phenomena is in firstborn humans who also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. Along with that the study also found out that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. All of these explanation, according to the author suggest that birth order does in fact have an effect on the individual's level of simulation. Although all the facts provided by the author must be true but they still aren't enough to bolster the conclusion as mentioned above as there are a lot of fallacies in the evidence provided which cannot be neglected.

The study that the author is talking about is of a group of eighteen rhesus monkeys. The background of these monkeys is not provided. Where are they from, are they different from other categories of monkeys etc has not been mentioned. There is a possibility that this species of monkeys have a specific characteristic due to which their response to stimuli is different and the effect of this stimuli on the levels of the hormone cortisol in them.

The second observation on which the conclusions based on is the observation of response to stimuli between siblings. This observation although true, does not necessarily point toward the evidence of increased level of hormone cortisol in the monkeys as they ages of the monkeys under observation have not been specified. The firstborn shows higher level of the hormone cortisol as a response to stimuli maybe because the firstborn is more mature and more developed than his siblings. The younger siblings might also show similar signs in the level of coristol upon reaching the firstborns age. Thus the age factor, that is the ages of the monkeys under observation have not been mentioned and hence the conclusion is not accurately derived.

The premise of the entire portion of the letter is based on the observations of the hormone coristol. But, adequate information about the hormone coristol is not provided to draw conclusions from the aforementioned observations. This also points to the observation on the first-time mothers. The higher level of coristol can merely be a response to their first time pregnancy and as the body grows accustomed to being pregnant and has already experience it before, maybe the level of coristol reduces. There isn't enough evidence provided to bridge the gap between the ideas of first-time mothers having a high level of coristol and the firstborn showing high levels of coristol as a response to stimuli.

Therefore, the study provides a lot of insightful observation on the rhesus monkeys but they are still not enough to arrive at the conclusion that the birth order affects the individuals level of stimulation.