The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

In this argument, the arguer concludes that a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulation. To support this conclusion, the author explains that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Also, the arguer indicates that firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations just like the rhesus monkeys. Moreover, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring is another explanation. However, there are several alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation about an individual’s levels of stimulation of rhesus monkeys.

First of all, one of the rival proposed explanations of the individual’s levels of stimulation of rhesus monkeys could be caused by growth rate instead of the birth order. Based on the different growth rates, the rhesus monkeys with faster growth rates would produce more hormone cortisol to their higher metabolism than the monkeys with lower growth rates. Also, there might be no relationship between the growth rate and the birth order. Sometimes, the younger one might grow faster than the elder one which would be able to produce more hormone cortisol.

Secondly, the proposed explanation could rival the explanation of the similarity of firstborn humans compared with rhesus monkeys in that this is a wrong analogy since humans and monkeys are different species. For rhesus monkeys, they are experiment samples, but humans cannot be taken in an experiment, therefore even though firstborn humans produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations, it could not represent the same situation with rhesus monkeys. Besides, humans somehow might have greater awareness and sensitivity even for infants.

Finally, the rival explanation for first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring during pregnancy is that the emotion of the first-time mother could be the main factor that lead to higher hormone cortisol since the fist-time mother monkeys are more excited than those who had had several offspring. As the emotion is cheerful, the hormone cortisol would produce more.

In general, the argument of rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation has three rival proposed explanations, which can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument, including different growth rates causing different levels of stimulation, a wrong analogy between humans and rhesus monkeys, and the exciting emotion of first-time mother monkeys produce the higher hormone cortisol.