"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

The editor’s letter argues that encourage people to share more rides on their way to work and providing them with coupons for free gas will significantly improve the current traffic and reduce pollution in Waymarsh, and he strengthen this argument by giving an example from a nearby city call Garville. However, there are many other evidences needed to support his argument.

The first piece of evidence is that the traffic condition in both Waymarsh and Garville are similar so that the policy can implemented in Waymarsh will get the same results as it does in Garville. Although these two cities are close to each other, the traffic and road arrangement might be different. Garville might be a smaller city, and people are willing to share rides as their destinations will be close to others’. Whearas, Waymarsh probably is a large city, and people don’t want to waste time driving other people to a place far away from where they are heading. Thus, if the editor has the evidence which shows that the traffic condition is similar in both cities, probably the legislator can enact the same policy of encourage people to share rides.

Secondly, although the pollution from Garville have dropped, we cannot track its cause solely to the sharing rides. If we have the evidence of the correlation between sharing rides and the decline of pollution, we may want to implement the policy to reduce pollution. Otherwise, there might be other reasons why the pollution decreased. For example, the government may have advocated or educated its citizens the idea of protecting the environment, and they automatically substitute riding bicycles or taking subways with driving. The pollution is thus decreased. If we have the evidence that show there is a cause and effect relationship between sharing rides and the decline in pollution, our suggestion of implementing new policy in Waymarsh would be more effective.

Finally, if there’s an evidence which showed that people in Garville are more willing to sharing rides than people in Waymarsh are, the editor’s argument would be weakened. As even though the local government can apply the same policy as Garville’s, its citizens would follow. People will still choose to drive to work as they consider the reward of sharing rides “unnecessary,” unimportant,” or “not attractive.”

The intention of implementing the same policy in Waymarsh as Garville’s was to reducing people’s commuting time and decrease pollutions, but there are many prerequisites needed. The government need to know whether the two cities have similar traffic conditions and road arrangement, and whether encourage sharing rides will result in decline of pollution, and whether its citizens are willing to follow the new policy. If all of these shows a supportive signal toward the new policy, the authority can enact it.