The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

‘Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem, Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighbourhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville’s shouldn’t work equally well in Waymarsh.’

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above letter described the deteriorating commuting situation at Waymarsh, people’s traveling time has doubled during the past three years. The author suggests that the best solution is to follow Garville’s experience of inciting people to share rides via gas coupons. However, this essay is going to argue that three pieces of evidence are needed for this recommendation to be plausible. Specifically, people at Waymarsh are indeed strongly dissatisfied with the time they have to spend commuting; the seemingly effective policy implemented at Garville is applicable at Waymarsh; and this policy would keep being effective in longer time periods.

Firstly, evidence of people’s attitude towards commuting should be provided to assess whether this is a ubiquitous problem generating significant dissatisfaction. It is undeniable that, although the time has been doubled, 40 minutes should not be considered as a strikingly long time duration. Therefore, it is well-possible that Waymarsh residents deem it as merely common commuting time and do not require further action. In that case, this recommendation would seem superfluous since the cost of implementing the policy is less likely to be paid off by citizen’s increasing living satisfaction. However, if after surveying people’s attitudes toward commuting time, there are strong evidence that this is indeed a factor affecting people’s lives. Then, the author’s suggestion would be better grounded.

Secondly, following Garville’s example requires considerable similarities between the two cities, and thus relevant evidence needs to be provided. The author only pointed out that the two cities are nearby geometrically, however, other elements, such as economics, politics, and religion,

should also be taken into consideration. For example, people living at Garville might have a closer interpersonal relationship due to common religious beliefs, whereas Waymarsh residents might be relatively isolated because of disagreements on political views. In such cases, the policy of sharing rides would be much more easier to be implemented at Garville compared with that at Waymarsh. Alternatively, if those two cities are indeed comparable, then following other’s successful experience would be remarkably beneficial, and thus the author’s argument will be strengthened.

Finally, another crucial evidence to be provided is the long-term effect of the policy. Since the policy has only been implemented at Garville from last year, its usefulness might be an illusory short-term prosperity. What’s more, the seemingly striking increase of commuting time at Waymarsh might also be a temporary phenomenon, it is likely that the traffic will find its balance naturally in a longer period. Indeed, the policy of giving free coupons is not considered as sustainable, because that will either generate huge budget deficit or shadow gas companies with revenue losses. Therefore, longer periods of data is needed to be collected to determine whether giving away gas coupons is a sustainable policy. If that’s not the case, then the author’s argument is therefore being undermined, and the suggestion from the city council meeting might be a more fundamental reaction to increasing commuting time.

To summarise, this essay has argued that three pieces of evidence are indispensable in assessing the author’s argument. The investigation of city residents’ attitudes quantifies how influential the traffic problem can be. The comparison between Waymarsh and Garville determines whether the same policy is applicable and can receive similar effects. And finally, longer-term data qualifies the sustainability of the policy. Only if all those three evidence give support to the author’s argument should it be taken into further consideration.