The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The study tried to support its conclusion that the individual’s levels of stimulation will be affected by birth order with some findings. But it failed to provide a more detailed and more reinforced explanation on presenting the effect in the following ways.

Initially, it failed to define the relationship between the hormone cortisol and body activities. It was said that cortisol primes the body for increased activity levels. But it is likely that the monkey will not conduct the behavior even with the cortisol in their body. For example, the cortisol only exists in their body transiently that monkeys’ behaviors as normal. Only after the cautious define on the causation that the proceeding study makes sense.

Secondly, the study tried to make the monkey study representative. But more monkeys as objects should be added in the study rather than a mere eighteen of them. A sample with such a limited number of objects will have difficulty in representing certain phenomena. For example, because of some genetic reasons, these eighteen monkeys are more possible to produce the hormone cortisol, so that the observation consequences were unreliable in the study.

Furthermore, the researchers tried to make an analogy between the monkeys and humans with a vague depiction of “relatively high level”, which is uncountable without further explanations on the reason of the analogy. For example, monkeys and humans have been confirmed to possess almost the same genetic materials so that they mostly act the same when stimulated. Such explanation will make the conversion to human more reasonable or rather it seems to present another study.

At last, The author offers the fact that first-time monkey mothers produce more cortisol than mothers who have had more babies. This fact could weaken the claim that first-born monkeys react to stimulating situations by producing more cortisol; they could have a higher base level to begin with. Furthermore, the amount of cortisol produced by the mother may not transfer to the baby monkey at all.

To sum up, the study needs to be complemented with more experiments and details to support the view.