The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple County has made an unfounded prediction that the measure proposed to restrict the development of farmland will cause a remarkable increase in housing prices. The council has made an untenable assumption that the restriction will surely lead to the increase of price of housing in the county. But it is still replete with a myriad of questions which thereby could undermine the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, as mentioned above, there might be other factors that might affect the houses’ prices other than the restriction. For example, the locals recently all have learned great skills in some colleges so that they can find better jobs with better awards, hence nearly all the people who need to buy a house have more money on their hand. So that they can afford more during the consumption of the houses. In this way, the houses’ prices might also increase. It will be more convincible if the council has clarified all those factors. It is possible that the restriction has nearly no effect on the housing market when considering those kinds of factors.

Secondly, it lacks more concrete evidence to support the claim because of the weak connections the council has made on the localized circumstance with the cases on other two countries: the Chestnut County and the Pine County. Although it has counted mostly on the Pine County’s case that the prices will increase, it has given rarely reasons to explain why to take the case. It seems that the council is just to consider the worst consequences of the houses’ prices increasing but has circumvented the risks to bring more benefit to the people living in Maple County. It might not be so serious but people need more explanations.

Thirdly, as for the circumstances of the two other counties, the council has given really qualified information which can cause more questions.

On the one hand, the Chestnut County’s case might also contribute to the predilection. It is likely that the Chestnut County’s developing level is similar with the Maple County so that it is useful as a reference by Maple County. What’s more, it adopted the restriction five years nearer than the Pine County so that the cases in the Chestnut County might be really countable.

On the other hand, the Pine County might also be a weaker developing city so that its house prices keep in a low level. In that case, even the doubled prices caused by the restriction or something might also be uncountable because the prices are still low.

In conclusion, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen it, the council must demonstrate the further studies on the other counties to illustrate the references in a better way.