The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding building new dormitories for the increasing number of students in the Buckingham college. Taken as a whole, these unwarranted assumptions render argument highly suspect. Indeed, if the unstated assumptions do not hold true, the argument falls apart.

The director of the student housing at Buckingham college makes a pivotal logical error that the attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. The enrollments of the students in the college may depend on the dormitories but the cardinal reason for enrollment depend on factors like teaching and its present rank among all colleges.

The argument asserts that Buckingham college enrollment is growing and, based on the present trends, it would be doubled in next fifty years. Buckingham college may have an increasing number of enrollments. But that does not mean that all students matriculating in Buckingham are choosing to reside in Buckingham dormitories. Some students might be coming to be college daily from home. Unless the director of student housing provides the number of students opting dormitories and number of students coming from home, the construction of new dormitories might not be useful as the director thinks.

The argument assumes that since the average rent for an apartment in the town has risen, it would be difficult for the students to afford off-campus housing. The average rent may have risen in the town but a group of students might be sharing a single apartment thereby reducing the rent per head.

In this way, the rent for an apartment paid by a single student might be less than the fee for the dormitory. Moreover, the director did not clarify about the fee for the dormitory. Unless the director provides the fee for the dormitory, it can not be decided which option might be economical for the students.

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart, and the conclusion that the attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham could be flawed.