The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The memo from the director of student housing indicated that Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories because of the growing-up enrollments. It claimed that the new dormitories are able to accommodate the increasing student number and attract more enrollment during the following years. However, this assumption is flawed and lacks some consideration.

Regarding the growing up enrollments, some students may choose to live on-campus; however, many of them may decide to live off-campus with friends. Although new dormitories will offer the new facilities, there is a variety of renting houses and apartments off-campus for students to select. Further, despite the rising rent for apartments in town, the price may still lower than the dormitories. Therefore, the argument is unpersuasive to build many new dormitories for massive enrollment.

The memo also mentioned that the new dormitories will attract more enrollment during the following years. This statement is also a debatable point. Most of the students come to the college because of its academic reputation and resources rather than just the student housing. The top schools in the world always famous for their successful research and rewards, they are the dream school for many students around the world because they offer the best teaching, research environment and contribution to society. If Buckingham college is able to offer a great academic program, enrollment would increase inevitably.

Consequently, it is easy to conclude that the argument failed to prove that building a number of dormitories is necessary. The new dormitories can adopt the incoming student, but it lacks credibility to state the population will double over due to the attractive housing buildings, and it can not guaranty that all enrollment will stay the on-campus housing no matter the concern of price or facilities.