The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this article, the author claims that Buckingham College should build a new dormitories to accommodate more enrolling students. To support this argument, the author points out that the student’s number will increase to double in the next 50 years and that the housing rent has risen in recent years. While the author's argument may seem convincing in the first glance, it lacks sufficient evidence which are essential for evaluating the conclusion.

To begin with, the author predict that the enrollment will double in the next 50 years. However, article gives no information about this prediction. Also, the enrollment number is hard to predict because it is influenced by many uncontrolled factors. If there is any data or charts point out that the enrollment of Buckingham College has been

steadily grow in the past few years, it can be more convincing that the enrollment will double in the next 50 years.

Furthermore, the author argues that the increasing rent of the apartment in the town cause student hard to afford the housing rent. Nevertheless, this assertion does not receive any support and could be possibly wrong. There is no evidence about the new dormitories will provide lower cost for students. Maybe the new dormitories have fancy decorations and only supply one person room, which usually need higher rent. Also, we don't know the economic capability of student in this college, which is hard to assert that the students couldn't afford the high rent.

Finally, the article assumes that the new dormitories will attract more students to enroll at Buckingham. Still, the author gives no information regarding what factors will influence an individual to select their school. If new discoveries indicate that the students choose the Buckingham due to it's attractive dormitories, than the author's assumption can be strongly supported. If, on the other hand, the students want to go to Buckingham because of it's extraordinary faculties and course, the author's assumption will be weakened.

To sum up, Buckingham should build new dormitories for increasing enrollment is not a conclusion that can be derives from the information available. Consequently, we need additional evidence to better evaluate of the author's claim.