The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores concludes that if Top Dog starts to place their ads in Exotic Pets Monthly, they will succeed to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again. He provides support for this conclusion by providing evidence of Fish Emporium which initiated advertising in the Exotic Pet Monthly magazine and their sales increased by 15 percent. However, the argument is based on some unwarranted assumptions and so is seriously flawed. Before evaluating the argument, these following three evidences must be provided.

First of all, it is important to evaluate whether the trend of sales increase still exist today as it was five years ago. The author prematurely assumes that the sales increase trend has remained constant over the last five years. However, this may not be the case. It is quite possible that sales of Fish Emporium have declined a bit in recent days despite advertizing in the magazine. The argument fails to consider this case and so it is seriously weakened.

Secondly, it is important to evaluate whether this 15 percent increase in sales is a representative of big sales gain or not. The director assumes that this sales increase provide a quite big gain in the sales. In reality, situation may be different. It is very likely that Fish Emporium sold only a very little amount of their products. If it is so, then the increase in sales will be of very negligible amount. For example, if they sold 100 products in a month, then after sales increment they would sell only 115 products, which is not a significant increase at all. The argument fails to address this issue and so it does not hold water.

Finally, it is important to evaluate whether Top Dog has many big stores as Fish Emporium in the city or not. The author does not provide any evidence about the number of stores Top Dog owns in the city, rather only an opaque data. It is possible that Top Dog has only 2 big shops in the city. If this is so, then they will not be able to earn the same amount of increase in sales as Fish Emporium saw. The argument fails to consider this and thus is seriously flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the director is able to provide evidences for the above stated three cases, then it will be possible to evaluate the argument properly and recommend placing ads in Exotic Pets Monthly otherwise it will remain seriously flawed as it is on surface.