The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores."Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument made by the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores claims that the company should start advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly in order to reverse the recent trend of declining sales. The director argues that because Fish Emporium had success with the advertising in Gulf City, then Top Dog Pet Stores surely will profit from such actions as well. However, this claim is based on insufficient evidence and assumptions of correlation. The argument is weak because it lies on a faulty line of reasoning and lack of evidence.

The primary issue at hand is the assumption of correlation, and this err is made multiple times throughout the statement. To start with, it is assumed that Fish Emporium’s sales increased by 15 percent due to the advertising. However, we need more information to fill in the gaps of this picture. What other factors could have been at play to influence the sales increase? It is possible that the company implemented other marketing strategies as well and that the advertising in the magazine didn’t actually affect sales. Without this additional information, the picture painted by the argument is lacking. By relying on a faulty assumption, conclusion made by Top Dog is vulnerable.

A secondary example of erroneous reasoning can be seen in the director’s assumption that because advertising in the Exotic Pets monthly helped increase sales at Fish Emporium, such advertisements would additionally increase sales for Top Dog. However, just because x action had y result in one scenario does not mean that this correlation is necessarily repeatable. An additional flaw in the argument presented by Top Dog is that of inadequate evidence and insufficient data. Information such as exactly how much of an increase in sales Fish Emporium saw in Gulf City is required in order to fully assess the situation. Without this information, it is not determinable if the sales were of a significant increase, and we cannot base statements on data that is not clearly reliable.

In conclusion, the suggestion made by the marketing director is tarnished by assumptions of correlations seen multiple times throughout the statement, and the lack of integral data that would create the entire picture needed to evaluate the argument at hand. If the argument provided the required data. Because the given argument contains countless flaws, it is therefore weak and unsound.