The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing."Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of

The argument claims that because of available of new supplier, Sartorian should resume production of deluxe alpaca overcoats which discontinued five years ago. To support the conclusion, the arguer cites that company have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since their major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. The arguer also points out that the price of most types of clothing has risen in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and company profits will increase. However, this argument suffer from several flaws and based on poor assumption and is therefore unpersuasive.

First of all, the arguer indicate that company have a new fabric supplier, they should resume production so that coat should sell very well. Here arguer badly assume that the coat should sell very well. Perhaps, it is possible that after they resume production, the people do not buy coat. The new supplier increase the price for supply and so that the amount of alpaca overcoats increase and because of this people cannot buy coats. In this case before production, the company must take survey of customers and then make any conclusion. Without considering all possibility, the arguer cannot assume that the coat will sell very well.

Another problem of this argument is that they assume that our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat so that here will be pent-up customer demand. It is possible that they stop production of coat because the demand was decrease. So if demand was decrease then how demand will increase. So here arguer badly assume that there will be pent up customer demand.

Thirdly, the arguer assume that customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats on the bases of other types of cloth's raised price. It is possible that in five years, customers are more comfortable of that type of cloths so that they pay more money on them. If customers are not comfortable of alpaca overcoats then they do not pay money. Without any evidence the arguer cannot make any conclusion.

In sum, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the arguer must require more information about the supplier. In order to better evaluate, the arguer give the different possibility of why major competitor stop production of coats. The arguer consider all this things and then make any conclusion.