The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian a company that manufactures men s clothing Five years ago at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric we discontinued production of our

The vice president of Sartorian wrote a memo inferring that the suspension of alpaca overcoat due to difficulties on supplies five years ago should be lifted, since the company had acquired a new fabric supplier and the decision will increase the profit of the company. However, the argument was based on some unwarranted assumptions, and some assumptions were missing to make the argument more convincing.

The vice president stated that they should start to produce alpaca overcoat with the new supplier. The underlying assumption was that the new supplier could provide wool fabric at least as good as the wool the company obtained five years ago. However, the assumption was not assured in the circumstances. There could be many factors that could lead to low quality or uneven quality of fabrics, such as, the climate changes leading to a bad growing environment for wool. Since the assumption is unwarranted, the argument that starting to produce alpaca overcoats was profitable is unpersuasive. To elaborate, the vice president suggested that resuming the production will apparently be a huge success because of the outcry from their customers when they discontinued the production. Nonetheless, if the quality of the fabric didn't hold up to the standards as it used to be, the production will be an enormous failure since no customer will purchase an overcoat that is rough, wrinkled, and can't keep one warm.

The author also mentioned that no other competitors in the market offers a comparable product, so they can expect the customers have high demand on the item. However, there was a critical assumption needs to be added: there was a high demand overcoats. Five years ago, the alpaca overcoat was popular, but it could be out-fashioned now. If the alpaca overcoat is not in such a high demand, the sells of the overcoat would still be upsetting without any competitor on the market.

To sum up, the memo from the vice president was based on an unwarranted assumption, the new supplier provides wool fabrics which was at least as good as the ones before, and was missing an assumption, the market still crave for the alpaca overcoats as five years ago. The company should not make a decision on whether to resume the production of the alpaca overcoat or not until the assumption listed above is established or proven.